Global Identity Index - 0870 716 9816 - Domain Name Scammers
| Company Name(s): | Global Identity Index |
|---|---|
| Telephone: | 0870 716 9816 |
| Website: | www.globalidentityindex.com |
| Status: | Active |
| Last Updated: | 2nd July 2008 |
| Known Staff: (could be aliases) |
Pennie Wilson |
Domain Name Scam Techniques Used
Telesales scammers.What can I do if I have been scammed by Global Identity Index?
You can get general advice from our Help! I've Been Scammed page or by reading the user experiences below. Make sure you act quickly!
Specific Advice
We will post specific advice for this scammer if we become aware of any police or Trading Standards investigations.
Experiences and Comments
Please register or log in (using the form on the left hand side of the page) to relate your experiences. Comments from new users are moderated.
4 comments to date. Newest comments displayed first.
andrew C - 23rd June 2008
This company contacted me by phone saying someone local to us was attempting to buy 7 domains related to my company. Then then go on to present a very convincing case with details and eventually prompted me to ask how do i stop them - then they try to sell you a way out (buy those domains before the other company)
This company contacted me by phone saying someone local to us was attempting to buy 7 domains related to my company. Then then go on to present a very convincing case with details and eventually prompted me to ask how do i stop them - then they try to sell you a way out (buy those domains before the other company)
Steve Bern - 19th June 2008
I was conned into buying 2 Domain names, similar to my existing Domain name.
At the time, I panicked. Once I had time to think straight, it was too late!
Not satisfied with conning me, one of the Domain names is not working/live, and when you ring to speak to someone, there's never anyone there, they take your phone number but never ring back.
So not only have I been conned into paying £200 for 2 Domain names I don't really need ... only one of them is actually working!
I was conned into buying 2 Domain names, similar to my existing Domain name.
At the time, I panicked. Once I had time to think straight, it was too late!
Not satisfied with conning me, one of the Domain names is not working/live, and when you ring to speak to someone, there's never anyone there, they take your phone number but never ring back.
So not only have I been conned into paying £200 for 2 Domain names I don't really need ... only one of them is actually working!
Nick Crosby - 3rd April 2008
Contact given was Pennie Wilson on Ext. 1035
The usual scam - one of our group companies (who use our name & branding) offered the chance to "block" the impending purchase of domains. I believe the fee quoted was £800. Fortunately rather than panic completely, she got off the phone & passed the details to me. Of course, had I phoned the 0870 number as requested, the scammer would have made money from that as well. A quick search on their phone number reveals that they were calling themselves Websolve International less than a week ago.
Contact given was Pennie Wilson on Ext. 1035
The usual scam - one of our group companies (who use our name & branding) offered the chance to "block" the impending purchase of domains. I believe the fee quoted was £800. Fortunately rather than panic completely, she got off the phone & passed the details to me. Of course, had I phoned the 0870 number as requested, the scammer would have made money from that as well. A quick search on their phone number reveals that they were calling themselves Websolve International less than a week ago.
Keith Brown - 31st March 2008
old call telling us someone rude from the US was trying to buy similar domain names to ours. Caller was very polite, pleasant, credible sounding. Said she was based in Luton. Their domain was registered on 28th March, we were called on 31st!
old call telling us someone rude from the US was trying to buy similar domain names to ours. Caller was very polite, pleasant, credible sounding. Said she was based in Luton. Their domain was registered on 28th March, we were called on 31st!