Domain Name Scams
fighting to put domain name scamming companies out of business

Domain Renewal Group - +1 905-479-2533 - Domain Name Scammers

Company Name(s): Domain Renewal Group
Telephone: +1 905-479-2533
Website: www.domainrenewalgroup.com
Status: Active
Last Updated: 25th May 2009

Domain Name Scam Techniques Used

Reported as performing a domain renewals scam by post, much like Domain Registry of America.

What can I do if I have been scammed by Domain Renewal Group?

You can get general advice from our Help! I've Been Scammed page or by reading the user experiences below. Make sure you act quickly!

Specific Advice

We will post specific advice for this scammer if we become aware of any police or Trading Standards investigations.

Experiences and Comments

Please register or log in (using the form on the left hand side of the page) to relate your experiences. Comments from new users are moderated.

18 comments to date. Newest comments displayed first.

S West - 22nd July 2010

Post Office in UK still very happy to take there money for mailsort. Active
Andy Hickey - 19th July 2010

These guys are an international operation, right? I have read posts from France, Canada, Australia, the UK and the States. I like the idea of sending no-stamp replies to them, but I'd get more satisfaction by sending the letter from another country. If I posted a heavy package without a stamp from the UK to their Canadian post box, or the one in Australia, would it get there, with them paying the postage I wonder?
We need to share the addresses with our friends around the world.
Anthony Kightley - 1st June 2010

Just like Stephen, I have, just , receive a genuine looking letter, complete with an addressed envelope, from these people. Fortunately, I received a similar letter from a firm in Cambridge a few years ago and was suspicious of this one. I will not be replying!
Incidentally, if one returns the envelope unstamped the chances are that the firm will refuse to accept it and so they won't be at a financial loss in any way, which was, presumably, the point of the exercise. There is little one can do apart from avoiding getting caught and reporting it to people like yourselves.
Stephen Scotter - 8th May 2010

I've received a letter from Domain Renewal Group this morning. Fortunately I work in the industry and spotted it was a scan right away! I'll be sending the envelope back without a stamp and with something heavy inside ;)
Pimmi Pande-Jones - 27th April 2010

I fell for this for some reason; I didn't read the letter closely and probably because when I paid up it was allegedly the last day for renewing my domain name, so I panicked. I received an email 2 days later informing me that the renewal had not taken place as the current registrars had locked the domain which is when the penny dropped. My credit card company were unsympathetic and unwilling to offer advice (MBNA). Having just telephoned Domain Renewal Group on the US number printed on the letter - 1-905-479-2533, and spoken to a chap named Damon in Customer Service, I have been assured that I should receive a refund within a couple of days. Perhaps this is because I requested it during the 7 day cooling off period that the Office of Fair Trading refers to, or maybe they've fobbed me off and the refund won't be granted. Thankfully it was just £20 but that's not the point of course. I pointed out to Damon that the letter insinuates that DRG are the current owners of my domain and are seeking a renewal, which he naturally denied. Live and learn I suppose, but I would suggest anyone else who has fallen for this to call DRG on their US number asap to request a refund. If I receive the refund I will report back!
ABC Diamond - 23rd April 2010

This group also operates in Australia, but with the same telephone number.

Domain Renewal Group
189 Queen Street, Suite 209
Melbourne 3000 Australia
Tel: 1-905-479-2533

The bill they sent out would have been so easy to just fill in and "renew" !
But at $45 instead of the $10 that I normally pay.
I was hesitant and double checked it.
Grace Yoxon - 25th March 2010

Following on from my earlier message and taking the idea of Michael McLannahan, I am returning their envelope attached to a heavy parcel of stone - unpaid of course! Grace M Yoxon 25 March 2010
Grace Yoxon - 25th March 2010

I received a letter today saying my domain name is going to expire at the end of August. I thought it was a scam but to be sure I checked with someone I can trust about these matters and he told me about your site. I am just adding this to tell people that this is still going on today. Grace M Yoxon (25 March 2010)
J S - 25th March 2010

I wrote fuck you in large letters and returned it in the return addressed envelope without a stamp.

I also contacted Mail Boxes Etc to ask them what they plan to do about a scam operation using their mail boxes.

Contact them here and let them know. http://www.mbe.co.uk/about_us.aspx
J S - 25th March 2010

Contacted Mail Boxes Etc to ask them what they plan to do about a scam operation using their mail boxes.

Contact them here and let them know. http://www.mbe.co.uk/about_us.aspx
Michael McLannahan - 23rd December 2009

Have received my Domain Renewal Group letter this morning.

They included a addressed envelope for my payment - I'll find some rubbish to send them back - unstamped of course.

They have an address in London (PO Box but disguised as a genine address.

The scammer's address is...

Domain Renewal Group
56 Gloucester Rd
Suite 526
London
SW7 4UB

Still the same US based phone number.
Jeff Kane - 22nd December 2009

This is still going on as at 22 Dec 2009. The wording of the letter/notice is so misleading (and clearly deliberately so). Yours is a great website... the more we can spread the word about this, the better. Has anyone tried telling the media about it?
Mark Cassie - 10th November 2009

This business is still going in November 2009.

Because they use post rather than email they communicate directly with the domain owner rather than their technical representative. The techie would probably recognise this as scam as they would know who the current registrar is. The owner may just pay the invoice, the amounts are small enough not to be checked properly.
David Hurst - 25th May 2009

Keith,

Sorry to hear you've been scammed.

Your domain name expires on the 29 September 2009. So, if you paid them for 5 years, they haven't actually done this. Looks like they haven't done anything. You need to check the WHOIS record for your domain. You can do this by using the Domain Name Checker on this site. Currently it appears to be registered with one.com. If this is your current registrar, get in touch with them straight away to stop any transfer. Then, contact your credit card company for a refund.

If one.com is not your current registrar, then things will be more tricky. Your best bet would be to contact your current registrar and ask them to help you get the domain transferred back again. Again, contact your credit card company.

Regards,

David
Romain Vennekens - 22nd May 2009

I received a paper from them by post.

I'm really shocked that such things exist. It's so unfair !

If you can do something, please do it !
Keith Castley - 19th May 2009

These crooks took me for£85
+£1 bank charge....
i thought the bill was from my isp.....
how do i now stand with my
domain name g0fdj.com
These crooks have been paid for 5 years of hosting ????????????????????
how do i stand now with my original isp?????
Anne Macfarlane - 10th May 2009

They sent me a letter to renew a domain which I own and is looked after by a reliable internet domain hosting company. I called them and they told me to disregard it but I was annoyed so found your website to stop someone else being caught by these despicable thieves
Constantine de Goguel - 23rd March 2009

Received an official-looking letter by post, letting me know that it would soon be time to renew my domain name. "Reply requested by April 27th" for a domain name that is due for renewal in August. It would be easy to just fill in the form, give credit card details, etc.
This appears to be related to Domain Registry of America. There is an English address - 56 Gloucester Road, Suite 526 (!) London SW7 4UB. This is a legitimate post box company.
Reading the "letter" closely, they are asking you to transfer to them the registry of your domain name. The cost of yearly renewal would be £20. My current registrar charges £9.99. I have heard on other forums (fora?) that if you do inadvertently sign up, the domain name may not be renewed anyway!